Spinach Green Tea Protein Pancakes

Hi everyone!  Welcome to my blog – I am incredibly excited to begin sharing one of my newfound passions in life: dedication to a healthier lifestyle.  I’ve devoted a significant part of my time in the last few months to explore what this would mean to me.  Though the concept of health acts as an umbrella term to encompass a wide variety of thoughts, behaviors, and preferences, I feel that a significant part of it deals with eating habits.  What we choose to ingest can either be detrimental to our bodies, causing it to wear down slowly, or supplement it in a fuel-like way to make the most of our day-to-day activities.  You can find out more about the meaning behind this blog name and how I got started here.  This is my way of proposing and sharing different ways to nourish ourselves in a creative manner – do keep in mind that eating healthily does not equate to being boring, bland, or repetitive!  If you’re interested in this exploratory endeavor, then please come along for the ride.

Filling, nutritious, protein-packed breakfast to start your morning

As my first post, I decided to share with you one of my favorite breakfasts of all time – pancakes.  But wait…  They’re not just your ordinary Aunt Jemima pancakes straight out of the box that you slather with maple syrup.  In fact, we’re going to give this staple breakfast food a healthy, nutritious makeover.  This version provides you with protein, complex carbs, fiber, greens from the spinach as well as vitamins, antioxidants and minerals to help you get started with your day.  Keep in mind that this is just one of the many variations of protein pancakes.  I’m going to provide you with a great starting recipe, and you can add various ingredients to suit your tastes.  This is what you need to make one serving of basic protein pancakes:

Basic Protein Pancakes

  • 1/2 a scoop protein powder of your choice (I use Muscle Milk Light, Vanilla Creme)
  • 3 tbsp oats
  • 1/3 cup of egg whites
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • Optional: dash of cinnamon powder, stevia/truvia for additional sweetness

Blend all ingredients together in a blender, pour onto a skillet/small sized pan, and cook like regular pancakes.

This usually yields 2 pancakes for me on a small sized pan, approximately 6 inches in diameter.  And now, for a delicious variation on this recipe, add the following ingredients to the previous recipe to make your own spinach green tea protein pancakes!

Spinach Green Tea Protein Pancakes

  • 1 whole banana (use 1/2  for the batter, save other 1/2 as topping)
  • Handful of washed, clean spinach
  • 1/4 tsp matcha/green tea powder (I used one packet of prepackaged matcha powder that I bought at Asian market)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Blend all ingredients together in a blender, pour onto a skillet/small sized pan, and cook like regular pancakes.  Mash the other half of the banana for your topping and if desired, garnish with additional fruits such as blueberries, blackberries, etc for an extra boost of antioxidants and phytonutrients.

That’s it!  These protein pancakes are a quick, easy and healthy way to jumpstart your morning.  I hope you give it a try – let me know how it turns out in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

