Paleo Bread

Have you ever experienced that moment in which you’re steadily nearing the end of your groceries?  When you’re caught somewhere between almost exhausting your supply and knowing that it’s not quite time to make another trip to the grocery store?  That’s how I felt several days ago, except to make matters worse, I was craving a very specific type of food: a loaf of Ezekiel bread (their sprouted whole grain is my absolute favorite).  I found this to be strange, especially since I hadn’t eaten a loaf of their bread in months, as I have since preferred their sprouted wraps over their sliced bread and English muffins.

I wish I could accurately portray my thought processes when it comes to cooking. Sporadic does not even begin to depict how random I can be when I choose to make food.  It happens somewhere along the lines of this, for example: I am laying in bed after a long day at work and school, completely overcome by exhaustion.  It is nearing 2 A.M. when suddenly during my ritualistic pre-sleep phone perusal on Instagram, Facebook and the like (as embarrassing as this may be), I find myself craving sweet potato fries.  I’m talking about pregnant-woman-level-cravings – it was no joke!  Of course, the only way to satiate my yearning for the crispy, deliciously starchy frites were to make them… immediately.  As heavily as my eyelids drooped, I almost mustered enough energy to rouse myself to walk downstairs to the kitchen so I could preheat my oven.  I seriously meditated this idea for what seemed like half an hour; finally, my cravings subsided slightly and I decided that it was more normal to save the cooking adventure for a more practical time.  As in first thing tomorrow.

Now that you have a better understanding of my relationship with all things food, my determination to make some darn bread almost surpassed my desire for sweet potato fries at 2 A.M. in the morning.  The first thing that came to mind was a recipe that I came upon while browsing Gwyneth Paltrow’s lovely website.  Besides boasting a funky name, Goop provides readers with a plethora of lifestyle publications, including but certainly not limited to healthy recipes, fitness ideas, and places to go out and see.  I remember gathering breakfast ideas one morning when one recipe piqued my interest: it was Paleo bread.  I had previously heard of the Paleo diet before, and for those who aren’t familiar with it, it essentially strives to replicate the diets of hunter-gatherers during the Paleolithic period some 2.5 million years ago.  Contemporary paleolithic diets emphasize the consumption of foods such as: grass-fed meats, fish, vegetables, nuts, fruit, fungi and roots, altogether cutting out legumes, grains, dairy products and refined sugar/salt/oil.  While I do not necessarily follow the Paleo diet, and instead incorporate a wide variety of wholesome foods, I understand why some individuals may choose to follow the regimen.  In any case, the ingredient list seemed straightforward enough, calling for almond flour, coconut flour, apple cider vinegar, coconut oil, golden flaxseed meal, eggs and honey.  Lo and behold, I had all the ingredients on hand – it was meant to be!  Above all, I appreciated that the recipe would yield something that was nutritionally dense, high in protein and fiber while being low in calories and carbs.  What’s more?  It’s gluten-free, dairy-free, and grain-free!  And so off I went to begin my quest for homemade bread – here is what I did to create the perfect loaf using Elana’s delightful recipe:

Paleo Bread (makes 1 loaf)

  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/4 tsp celtic sea salt (I used sea salt for substitution)
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  1. Place almond flour, coconut flour, flax, salt and baking soda in a food processor and pulse the ingredients together.
  2. Add in eggs, oil, honey and vinegar and pulse.
  3. Pour batter into a greased 7.5″ x 3.5″ non-stick loaf pan (or line with parchment paper)
  4. Bake at 350° for about 40 minutes.
  5. Cool and serve.

Ingredients laid out in preparation

Fresh out of the oven… smells great!

That’s all that you need!  After 40 minutes, I allowed the loaf to cool down slightly before I transferred it to a wire rack.  Within an hour, I had the most scrumptious slice of bread that captured a slight hint of sweetness and grain-like goodness.  The outside had just the right amount of crispiness while the inside was warm and soft, just like how I like my baked goods.  Needless to say, my cravings were happily satisfied in a short amount of time – I plan to remake this paleo bread soon.  So far, I have topped it with a smidgen of no-stir organic peanut butter with apples and will try it with a clean tuna salad with veggies and cucumbers for something more savory.  You could even try pairing it with homemade strawberry chia jam!  The possibilities are endless when it comes to healthy, clean eating.  I hope you try this fantastic recipe, and as always, please let me know how it goes!

The finished product, sliced and ready to go

Leave a Reply

