Three Bean Turkey Chili

Hi everyone!

Like a madwoman, I just took a trip over to Glazier’s for my weekly grocery run… at close to midnight.  As off-kilter as that sounds, shopping an hour or so before they closed meant no crowds and no lines.  While there, I picked up a bunch of yummy ingredients that I haven’t tried before.  Believe it or not, it was my first time buying eggplant after deciding to make baked eggplant fries out of them.  Upon selecting a plump one from the produce section, I was awestruck at the tremendous size of the purple vege-fruit!  So light, and yet large enough to cover my face.  Why did I not try experimenting with this earlier?  Amongst buying eggplant, I also came across a popular brand in the health food world: Peanut Butter & Co.’s Cinnamon Raisin Swirl.  Just like the title suggests, the gluten-free, vegan, delectable spread consists of peanut butter blended smoothly with cinnamon and raisins.  Not only is it all-natural, but also contains no cholesterol/trans fats/hydrogenated oils/high fructose corn syrup.  I was sold!  Further down the aisle, I had the opportunity to add to my arsenal of ever-growing pancake toppings.  That’s right: I also purchased a bottle of Walden Farms sugar-free/fat-free/calorie-free caramel syrup, another popular choice by health and fitness enthusiasts.  Finally, I began collecting ingredients to try my hand at another first: making chili!  Jamie Eason’s three bean turkey chili, to be exact.

This amazing recipe is shared in response to my friend Paolo’s request for a meal that 1.) can be made ahead of time 2.) is high in protein 3.) is easy to make 4.) can be prepared in bulk and 5.) can be snacked on every day.  Well, here it is!  This scrumptious turkey chili is all that and a bag of chips and more.  Nutritionally, the extra-lean ground turkey is a terrific source of lean protein, while the black and pinto beans add fiber.  Onions contain healthy sulfur compounds and can even prevent heart disease, cancer, and help combat infections.  Green chiles, popular in South American cuisine, possess capsaicin, which “inhibit neuropeptides that cause inflammation” as well as a healthy dose of vitamin A and C.  Also rich in vitamin C are tomatoes, which contain lycopene that may help with fighting free radicals.   In combination with spices like chili powder, cumin and mustard, this delightful recipe will certainly please your taste buds.  Though I adjusted the recipe a bit, the results I yielded were still remarkably tasty.  For example, I did not have cilantro so I omitted that. The Xylitol brown sugar blend was difficult to find, so I omitted that and used white sugar instead as a last resort (yikes, don’t judge me!)  I also have honey mustard, but no regular mustard… Therefore, I used powdered mustard as well as some that I prepared with apple cider vinegar.  I’ll post the original recipe as well as my modifications so that you may choose which recipe you would prefer.  You can make this conveniently in one pot (or use a skillet for the turkey like I did, then transfer to a large pot) in preparation for the rest of the week.  It will yield a large portion, about ten to twelve 1-cup servings.  Hearty, healthy, easy.  What isn’t there to like?  Let’s get started:

Three Bean Turkey Chili

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb extra lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup chopped onions
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 2 – 4 oz. cans of diced green chilies
  • 1 – 15 oz. can Organic Tri-Bean Blend (drained) Used Sun Vista no salt added pinto beans
  • 1 – 15 oz. can Organic Black Beans (drained)Used Sun Vista no salt added black beans
  • 2 – 14.5 oz. cans Organic Diced Tomatoes (do not drain)
  • 1 tbsp Xylitol Brown Sugar BlendUsed 1/2 tbsp white sugar
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tbsp white vinegar
  • 3 tbsp regular yellow mustard Used 2 tbsp powdered mustard + 1 tbsp self-prepared mustard by mixing with cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp dried or fresh cilantro
  • 2 tsp adobo sauce (optional) 

Ingredients laid out in preparation

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, add onions and turkey, sprinkled with garlic powder and cook until no longer pink.  Drain using a plate, if desired.
  2. Next, add the green chilies, beans, tomatoes, xylitol/sugar and spices (except cilantro, if using) and stir until combined.
  3. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer for about 10 minutes.
  4. Finally, add cilantro (if using).  Serve hot.
  5. You may sprinkle veggie shreds (I used green onions) or a light cheese on top.

Cooking the turkey and onions, sprinkled with garlic powder

Added tomatoes, chilies, sugar, beans, spices – stir well

Could you believe how easy that was?  You’re done!  Now, you can garnish your chili with toppings like green onions as I did here, a light sprinkle of cheese, additional hot sauce for an added kick, the list goes on.  What’s remarkable about Jamie Eason’s recipe is how versatile it is: depending on your eating habits, you can adjust the ingredients accordingly.  Make it vegetarian by omitting the meat and adding more veggies or even quinoa.  You could even swap out the extra-lean ground turkey for lean grass-fed beef or free-range chicken.  I am so glad that I tried my hand at this; in fact, when I tasted the chili as it simmered, I was completely floored by how simple and flavorful it was.  This will undoubtedly be a staple in my household, that’s for sure. Additionally, the possibilities are endless – I love that this allows room for creativity and experimentation.  That, my friends, is why I enjoy busying myself in the kitchen.  Be happy, healthy, and most importantly, have fun!  Let me know how yours turn out in the comments below!

The finished product, garnished with green onions

One thought on “Three Bean Turkey Chili

  1. That chili looks so good! It’s funny how a tiny garnish can make the whole meal look that much better!

    And I’ve purchased that sugar-free syrup before for my pancakes and it is just as delicious (if not better) than mrs butterworth’s!

Leave a Reply

